Faces 101 Class

“You should draw people more!” is what I’ve heard from a few of you lately. I’ve spent the last two weeks doing just that—painting only faces, in an online Carla Sonheim class, “Faces 101.”

Every day was a different exploration of various media using Carla’s fun techniques. I was a kid in a virtual class playground where we all shared our work on Flickr. Many of the assignments were from imagination. Others were from reference materials or live people. Only one was a realistic study. Some had time limitations. One required drawing with my non-dominant hand. All of them were challenging and rewarding. I continue to see faces in everything!

These are just a few of the 101 faces I created for the class. To see the rest, grab a cup of tea and visit my Flickr page where you can click on any thumbnail to scroll through the large images and read comments. Easier still: click the slideshow button at the top of the page.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Displayed artwork © 2012 Kim Reading. All rights reserved.

2 responses to “Faces 101 Class

  1. You rascal, you turned me into an Elvis character. Actually very good and less hidden than the real pic person I was. What I especially like about your caricatures is they all are different expressions of the subject’s essence. Bravo!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

