It’s Chopin’s Birthday

I painted this androgynous face and was told it looked rather like a 19th century composer. So I gave him a body and keyboard — my Chopin.

Frédéric François Chopin was a Polish composer and virtuoso pianist of the Romantic era (1 March 1810 – 17 October 1849).

(click image to enlarge)
75_chopin
(12″ x 18″ sharpie® marker and watercolor on shizen® 100lb. rough rag paper)
Displayed artwork © 2013 Kim Reading. All rights reserved.

8 responses to “It’s Chopin’s Birthday

  1. Kim: i love this! i think you should start doing political cartoons! you have such a unique style. thank you for posting this! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think this is just terrific!!! Would you do me on my 200th Birthday?

    Like

  3. But first she has to do mine at 99. You’ve caught my impression of this young romantic who died much too young.

    Like

  4. Great warmth and depth. I think his eyes are following me around the room!

    Like

Leave a Reply

