Squall

I considered cropping the upper white horizontal rectangle but a friend insisted that it remain. Your thoughts?

(click image to enlarge)
storm
(8″ x 10″ acrylic monotype using Gelli plate)
Displayed artwork © 2013 Kim Reading. All rights reserved.

7 responses to “Squall

  1. Oh keep it! It is like a cloud and a nice contrast to the stripes on the bottom.

    Like

  2. I could go either way with the horizontal bar at the top. But leaving it does highlight the underwater picket fence at the bottom, which I like a lot.

    Like

  3. Another “keep it” vote here, for all the reasons mentioned.

    Like

  4. keep it! it adds interest and its there for a reason even if you don’t quite know what it is right now. someone will connect with it in an unexpected way.

    Like

  5. I like the upper white rectangle; I think it conveys well the idea of a squall that might be missing otherwise. I feel the wind and rain when I look at this.

    Like

  6. I would take the top third of it away. This conveys clouds but isn’t quite as demanding of your attention as the entire block is. I found I noticed more of the other stuff when there wasn’t quite so much white at the top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

