Morning at the Zoo

Woodland Park Zoo has a new exhibit called Banyan Wilds where tigers, sloth bears, arguses, and Asian small-clawed otters now reside in more natural, expansive surroundings. I went last weekend to see it. Worth a visit, for you local ‘Ticklers.’

Now, I have mixed feelings about zoos in general, but I love visiting our city’s little jewel and always enjoy watching the wild and human (also sometimes wild) animals roaming its acres. I went early enough to catch many of them in an active state.

My meanderings led me through the Family Farm at the end of my trip. Tired of walking, I stopped and sketched a couple of the not-so-wild creatures who also live at the zoo.

(click any sketch for enlargement)

african_pygmy_goat

brass_rubbings_at_zoo(3″ x 5″; water soluble pen & Niji water brush on moleskine®)
Displayed artwork © 2015 Kim Reading. All rights reserved.

2 responses to “Morning at the Zoo

  1. Love all the sketches – pygmy goat in particular!

    On Tue, Jun 16, 2015 at 11:27 AM, a r t i c k l e wrote:

    > Kim — a r t i c k l e host posted: “Woodland Park Zoo has a new > exhibit called Banyan Wilds where tigers, sloth bears, arguses, and Asian > small-clawed otters now reside in more natural, expansive surroundings. I > went last weekend to see it. Worth a visit, for you local ‘Ticklers.’ Now, > I”

    Like

  2. What beautiful sketches! Growing up in a huge family, the zoo was always a place we could all go together. Thanks for the memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

