Pudding Bowl

The “pudding bowl” cut, “pudding basin” cut, or just plain “bowl” cut — no matter what you call it, it’s all bad. Always was and forever will be. If any of you were victims of a lazy-scissored Mom who insisted on saving pennies by avoiding the barber, I feel for you. I must admit my own mother took the scissors to my bangs like this once upon a time and I still loathe my school photo from that year.

Arguably, the only face to pull it off successfully was Moe, Three Stooges’ Moe Howard. Between him and his brothers Shemp and Larry, they pretty much characterized the spectrum of hair foibles:  bowl cut, crew cut, and you-really-ought-to-just-shave-it-off-because-you’re-bald-on-top cut.

Healthywealthy

(photo credit:
Healthywealthy” by Source. Licensed under Fair use via Wikipedia)

This painting exercise apparently unlocked my disdain for the “bowl.” It is a reverse acrylic painting on clear vinyl with collage elements, set against a black piece of paper. It’s got attitude I didn’t expect when I started. Art reveals truth!

(click image to enlarge)

(8.5″ x 11″  mixed media on vinyl sheet)
Displayed artwork © 2015 Kim Reading. All rights reserved.
sparklogo_w_words

4 responses to “Pudding Bowl

  1. Ha! I cut both my kids’ hair until they were about 5. Yup, the bowl. I thought it was cute though. 🙂 Love your collage!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

