Hawaii Sketches 2016

Balmy Hawai’i is an irresistible  lure this time of year when I’ve about HAD it with the cold-wet-windy weather of Seattle. I easily took the bait again this year when my sweetie suggested, “So, for your BIG birthday, why don’t we go back?” And he treated me to two warm weeks on the Big Island. I know, I’m incredibly lucky, right? Spoiled is more like it.

No “sketch-a-day” like last year (sorry) but I have a good excuse. We were joined by dear friends who helped party me through the first celebratory week! I survived and had a great time. Here are a few sketches managed between the fun.

(click any image to enlarge)

BEAUTIFUL ARRANGEMENT GREETING US AT CONDO
protea_anthurium_arrangement_wp

SHORE PALMS AND SURF
palm_trees_view-from-condo_wp

BECAUSE I HAD TO…
bathroom_floor_face_wp

CHARMING LOCAL HOUSE
green_house_honaunau_wp

FOREST IMPRESSIONS FROM OUR FINAL B&B
forest_impressions_wp

CITY OF REFUGE
city-of-refuge_honaunau_wp


(All approx. 5″ x 3″ micron pen on moleskine® sketch or watercolor paper)
Displayed artwork © 2016 Kim Reading.  All rights reserved.

2 responses to “Hawaii Sketches 2016

  1. Was the face from cracks in the floor?? These are just gorgeous. Just looking at them I can feel how relaxed you were feeling in breathing that warm, scented air and allowing your talent to emerge naturally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

